Vicky Flynn is running for the Assembly seat currently held by Serena DiMaso

February 27, 2021

More Monmouth Musings

Victoria A Flynn, President of the Holmdel Board of Education, announced yesterday that she is seeking the Republican nomination for the LD 13 Assembly seat currently held by two term Assemblywoman Serena DiMaso.

DiMaso, also of Holmdel, has not yet announced if she is seeking reelection, running for another office or not running for office in 2021.

Flynn, 48, is a past president of the Village School Parent School Association in Holmdel and was elected to the Board of Education in 2015. She and her husband, Michael Naughton, have been raising their three daughters in Holmdel since 2013.

An attorney who graduated cum laude from Seton Hall Law School, Flynn was the first law clerk of New Jersey Supreme Court Justice Jaynee LaVecchia. Her law practice focuses on litigation and appeals for private and public entities.

“It would be a privilege to serve Monmouth County in the legislature to address the challenging issues facing our communities, to fight for small businesses, and to find ways to get our kids back into the classroom. I believe now, more than ever, our state requires leadership that promotes fiscally conservative principles to guide our state out of the pandemic towards a more prosperous future,” Flynn said in her announcement. 

Flynn has the support of Holmdel Republican Chair Marcy McMullen and the Holmdel Republican County Committee.

“We need a leader like Vicky who will promote Republican party values and unity throughout the County. Vicky is the overwhelming choice of the Holmdel Republican County Committee. She supports all Republican endorsed candidates and has assisted women who want to run for public office in Holmdel. She is the best choice to lead the way in Trenton, along with Assemblyman Gerry Scharfenberger.”

In addition to Holmdel, the 13th Legislative District includes Aberdeen, Atlantic Highlands, Fair Haven, Hazlet, Highlands, Keansburg, Keyport, Little Silver, Marlboro, Middletown, Monmouth Beach, Oceanport, Rumson, Sea Bright, and Union Beach. The district is currently represented by Republicans; Senator Declan O’Scanlon, Assemblyman Gerry Scharfenberger and DiMaso.